Find a Teacher

Cannon Valley Area String Teachers

Violin and/or Viola Teachers

Ann Bur-  Violin, viola. Ages 5-adult, Suzuki Book 1-4 or the equivalent, SW Minneapolis, Mound, Farmington/Lakeville/Apple Valley, Burnsville
612-922-6781,    annbur101@gmail.com

Gerry Casper-  violin.   All ages, from beginners to advanced.  Lessons given at the Trondhjem Lutheran  Church in Lonsdale.  45 years of experience!
507-744-2459, gcasper@lonstel.com

Austin Cruz-  viola music ed major at St. Olaf willing to teach violin or viola cruz2@stolaf.edu

Almut Engelhardt – violin, viola, beginner to professional level, all ages,  St. Paul/Eagan area,  aengelhardt@spa.edu

Charles Gray – violin or viola, intermediate to advanced, Northfield area, gray@stolaf.edu

Laura Geissler – violin, ages 3-adult,  Certified Suzuki Method Instructor,   Northfield area, 612-325-2766, lgeissler.lg@gmail.com

Kathleen Lamb – violin & viola, 3yrs – Adult, All levels, Certified Suzuki teacher, chamber music coaching, and traditional method. Holds a degree in Violin Performance from the San Francisco Conservatory of Music, over 15 years teaching experience, Rochester area, 715-307-3822, klambviolin@gmail.com

Olivia Moraczewski – beginning-intermediate violin,  Burnsville area,     In-home lessons as far south as Northfield, okrueger01@gmail.com

Sharon Neufeld – Registered Suzuki Violin & Viola Instructor for students of all levels, ages 4-Adults. Bachelor’s & Master’s degrees in music, over 25 years of teaching experience, and extensive Suzuki teacher training. Also has training in Kindermusik and Music Mind Games. Lessons given in Pine Island and Rochester. TheSuzukiAcademyAtRoseHaven.com / TheSuzukiAcademy@gmail.com

Barbara Ross – violin and viola, beginning through advanced,  Suzuki program also,  Lakeville area, Happybarbs@frontiernet.net or call cell 612-790-0839

Katherine Wilhelm – Suzuki violin teacher, experience teaching beginner to intermediate students, wilhelmk14@gmail.com

Cello Teachers

Katherine Canon – cello lessons for age 4 – adult, Suzuki method., kbcanon22@gmail.com

David Carter – private cello, Northfield area, carter@stolaf.edu or call   612-702-1817

Anna Clift – cello lessons, lessons via Skype, lessons in collaboration with The Cello Consortium, clift@stolaf.edu or call 507-413-3495

Carolyn Mead – private cello, students from age 4 and up, beginning through advanced levels, in Rochester, MN, cmead5975@gmail.com

Barbara Ross – beginning through advanced cello,  Suzuki program also,  Lakeville area, Happybarbs@frontiernet.net or call 612-790-0839

Bass Teachers

Blake Bonde – any level, in Rochester area, doublybassicb@gmail.com or call 612-963-6948

Connie Martin – any level, Northfield area,   conniemartin800@gmail.com   or call 507-403-9012

Ally Moore-  St. Olaf music ed student,  moore4@stolaf.edu,  (434)-249-9275 any age/ability level,  orchestral bass,  jazz, and other styles

Disclaimer

String teachers listed have not been evaluated by CVYO and therefore are not specifically endorsed or promoted by the organization. The purpose of this site is simply to provide a venue for local string teachers to advertise their services to area students.

Choosing a String Teacher

Does teacher have experience working with the ability level of your student?   References provided?
Teaching method? (Suzuki or other?) When are specific techniques taught? (shifting, vibrato, etc.)
What is their fee?
Length of lesson? Summer months too?
Location of lesson?
Expectations of teacher (individual vs. group lessons, practice expectations, does parent need to be present for younger students, recital required?)
Consider a trial lesson before committing to a long term relationship. Ask to attend next student recital to hear the teacher’s students play.